Profile of Homeless People

There are thousands of homeless people in Québec. They are women and men who live in extreme conditions, without a roof over their heads or in squalid housing, for instance. Frequently marginalized and scorned, they are often not considered full citizens in a society that is one of the richest in the world.

Yet every day, this unacceptable situation is tolerated. This tolerance of the situation has become the social norm, in which, at best, people feel compassion for the homeless during periods of extreme cold. This tolerance also feeds preconceived notions about homelessness. For instance, the belief that it is an inevitable phenomenon and that there will always be homeless people regardless of the efforts made to help them.

Another common prejudice is that homeless people are responsible for their situation, and that living on the street is a personal choice. In most cases, the street is the culmination of a life trajectory peppered with difficulties and painful and challenging failures. No one chooses to be homeless.

Who are the Homeless?

Men

Adult males are the largest group of homeless people. Men are particularly present in shelters and refuges. Their lives are profoundly scarred by various factors, for example:

  • Life on the street
  • Addiction to alcohol, drugs or gambling
  • Mental illnesses
  • Sexually transmissible and blood-borne infections (STBBI)
  • Multiple losses, such as successive loss of employment or bereavements

Women

An ever increasing number of women are homeless. Nonetheless, their presence on the street is less noticeable. They have some of the same factors as men, but homeless women often have a tough history of violence (sexual assault and psychological, physical, domestic or family violence).

These women develop strategies to avoid living on the street. These survival strategies, such as prostitution or shoplifting, make them less visible but involve risks to their health, safety and dignity, pushing them deeper into the process of homelessness.

In order to avoid the street, some women go from shelter to shelter or from the house of one friend or acquaintance to another. This hidden homelessness conceals the extent of homelessness among women, even though it is a growing phenomenon.

Youths

Homelessness among street youths begins early in their lives. Their presence on the street and in other public places is increasingly noticeable. Factors that explain their presence on the street include:

  • Family and sexual violence
  • Neglect experienced during childhood or adolescence
  • Repetitive stays in protection and rehabilitation services for youths in trouble of adaptation or foster families during childhood
  • Running away from home repeatedly
  • Family breakups, such as parents separating
  • Mental disorders
  • Drug addiction
  • Dropping out of school

Homeless youth have often dropped out of school early and fail to find anything other than difficult and very precarious jobs. Drug use particularly exposes these youths to contracting the hepatitis C virus and, in rare cases, the human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). A quarter of homeless youths have engaged in prostitution. The number of youths with a sexually transmissible and blood-borne infection (STBBI) is 10 times higher in those who are homeless.

Families

Some families can end up homeless, but this is rare in Québec.

Certain family events, such as divorce, domestic violence, bankruptcy or recent immigration, along with the difficulty of finding an appropriate-sized, affordable, safe and clean house, increase the risk of families ending up without shelter.

Seniors

Many social workers and researchers tend to label homeless people as senior when they are 50 years old and up.

Homeless people aged 50 years and up have often experienced periods of homelessness or have grown old on the street. However, an increasing number of people this age are experiencing homelessness for the first time in their lives.

Most of these people are in poor physical, psychological or cognitive health. They have aged prematurely, and their mortality rate is three to four times higher than the general population.

Homeless people aged 50 and up are particularly vulnerable financially and socially. They are often looked upon as victims and are mistreated, isolated and ignored. They are not accepted in institutions that could otherwise be of help to them. Homeless people aged 50 and up are invisible to most of the population, who misunderstand the realities of this group.

Immigrants

Most homeless people in Québec were born in the province. However, the phenomenon is growing among immigrants, especially among youth and women. The number of immigrants who are in a precarious financial situation and who do not have citizenship or are awaiting papers is on the rise at resources where health care is offered.

Immigrants face the same homelessness risk factors as the general population. However, their recent arrival in Québec or their belonging to an ethnic minority presents other difficulties, which compound these risk factors. These difficulties include:

  • Not knowing the language
  • Being discriminated against
  • Cultural or social habits that make it difficult for them to integrate
  • Low income

Upon their arrival in Québec, immigrants with a low income are more at risk of living in overcrowded and squalid housing. Also, it may take some time to establish a social network, which makes them even more vulnerable. Female immigrants who have escaped environments in which they were victims of violence and abuse are especially at risk of one day finding themselves on the street.

Last update: February 22, 2017 2:09 PM

Notice

Radon awarness month Keep your distance from the flu What is cannabis ? Registering with a Family Doctor

Portrait des personnes en situation d'itinérance

Au Québec, les personnes en situation d’itinérance se comptent par milliers. Ce sont des femmes et des hommes qui vivent dans des conditions extrêmes, par exemple sans toit ou dans des logements insalubres. Souvent mises à l’écart et méprisées, ces personnes ne sont pas toujours considérées comme des citoyens à part entière dans une société qui est parmi les plus riches au monde.

Pourtant, tous les jours, cette situation inacceptable est tolérée. La tolérance envers cette situation est devenue une norme sociale qui amène tout au plus les gens à éprouver de la compassion envers les personnes en situation d’itinérance lors des grands froids. Cette tolérance contribue aussi à entretenir des idées préconçues sur l’itinérance. Par exemple, penser que c’est un phénomène inévitable et qu’il y aura toujours des personnes en situation d’itinérance, peu importe les efforts déployés pour les aider.

Un autre préjugé fréquent consiste à penser que les personnes en situation d’itinérance sont responsables de leur situation et que vivre dans la rue est un choix personnel. Dans la majorité des cas, la rue représente l’aboutissement d’un parcours de vie parsemé de difficultés et d’échecs douloureux et éprouvants. Personne ne choisit de devenir itinérant.

Qui sont les personnes itinérantes?

Des hommes

Les hommes adultes représentent le plus important groupe parmi les personnes en situation d’itinérance. Les hommes se retrouvent particulièrement dans les abris et les refuges. Leur vie est lourdement marquée par différents facteurs, par exemple :

  • la vie dans la rue;
  • la dépendance à l’alcool, aux drogues ou aux jeux de hasard et d’argent;
  • les maladies mentales;
  • les infections transmissibles sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS);
  • de nombreuses ruptures, par exemple des pertes d’emploi répétitives, des deuils, etc.

Des femmes

De plus en plus de femmes se retrouvent en situation d’itinérance. Leur présence dans la rue est toutefois moins apparente. Elles présentent certains facteurs communs aux hommes, mais les femmes en situation d’itinérance ont souvent un lourd passé de violence (agression sexuelle, violence psychologique, physique, conjugale ou familiale).

Ces femmes développent des stratégies pour éviter de se retrouver à la rue. Ces stratégies de survie, comme la prostitution ou le vol à l’étalage, les rendent moins visibles, mais comportent des risques pour leur santé, leur sécurité et leur intégrité et les enfoncent davantage dans le processus de l’itinérance.

Pour éviter la rue, certaines femmes passent d’un refuge à l’autre ou encore de la maison d’un ami ou d’une connaissance à l’autre. Cette itinérance cachée a pour effet de dissimuler l’ampleur de l’itinérance chez les femmes, alors qu’elle est en croissance.

Des jeunes

L’itinérance des jeunes de la rue s’installe tôt dans leur vie. Leur présence dans la rue et dans les autres espaces publics est de plus en plus visible. Les facteurs qui expliquent leur arrivée dans la rue sont, entre autres :

  • la violence familiale et sexuelle;
  • la négligence vécue durant l’enfance ou l’adolescence;
  • les séjours répétitifs dans des services de protection et de réadaptation pour les jeunes en difficulté d’adaptation ou des familles d’accueil durant l’enfance;
  • les fugues répétées;
  • les ruptures familiales, par exemple la séparation des parents;
  • les maladies mentales;
  • la toxicomanie;
  • le décrochage scolaire.

Les jeunes en situation d’itinérance ont souvent décroché de l’école très tôt et ne réussissent pas à se trouver autre chose que des emplois difficiles et très précaires. La consommation de drogues expose particulièrement ces jeunes à contracter le virus de l’hépatite C et, dans des cas plus rares, le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine (VIH). Puis, le quart des jeunes en situation d’itinérance se seraient livrés à la prostitution. Le nombre de jeunes qui ont une infection transmissible sexuellement et par le sang (ITSS) est 10 fois plus élevé chez ceux qui sont en situation d'itinérance que chez les autres jeunes.

Des familles

Certaines familles peuvent se retrouver en situation d’itinérance, mais cette situation est rare au Québec.

Certains événements familiaux, par exemple un divorce, de la violence conjugale, une faillite ou une immigration récente, liés à la difficulté de trouver un logement abordable, sécuritaire et convenable et dont la taille est adéquate, augmentent le risque que des familles se retrouvent sans abri.

Des personnes âgées

Plusieurs intervenants et chercheurs tendent à considérer une personne en situation d’itinérance comme âgée lorsqu’elle atteint ou dépasse 50 ans. Souvent, les personnes de 50 ans et plus qui se retrouvent en situation d’itinérance ont déjà connu des périodes d’itinérance ou ont vieilli dans la rue. Cependant, de plus en plus de personnes de cet âge vivent une situation d’itinérance pour la première fois dans leur vie.

La plupart de ces personnes sont en mauvaise santé physique, psychologique ou cognitive. Elles vieillissent prématurément et leur taux de mortalité est de 3 à 4 fois plus élevé que celui de l’ensemble de la population.

Les personnes de 50 ans et plus qui sont en situation d’itinérance sont particulièrement vulnérables sur les plans financier et social. Elles sont souvent traitées comme des victimes, maltraitées, isolées et ignorées. Ces personnes ne sont pas acceptées dans les institutions qui pourraient leur venir en aide. Les personnes en situation d’itinérance de 50 ans et plus sont invisibles pour la majorité de la population, qui a une méconnaissance de leur réalité.

Des personnes immigrantes

La majorité des personnes qui vivent en situation d’itinérance au Québec sont nées au Québec. Toutefois, le phénomène augmente chez les personnes immigrantes, particulièrement chez les jeunes et les femmes. Le nombre de personnes immigrantes dont la situation financière est difficile et qui sont sans statut de citoyenneté ou en attente de statut augmente dans les ressources où l’on offre des soins de santé.

Les personnes immigrantes présentent les mêmes facteurs de risque d’itinérance que l’ensemble de la population. Toutefois, leur arrivée récente au Québec ou leur appartenance à une minorité ethnique leur causent d’autres difficultés, qui s’ajoutent à ces facteurs de risque :

  • méconnaissance de la langue;
  • victime de discrimination;
  • habitudes culturelles ou sociales qui rendent leur intégration difficile;
  • faible revenu.

À leur arrivée au Québec, les personnes immigrantes à faible revenu ont plus de risque de vivre dans des logements surpeuplés et insalubres. De plus, elles peuvent prendre un certain temps à se bâtir un réseau social, ce qui les rend encore plus vulnérables. Les femmes immigrantes qui ont fui des milieux où elles étaient victimes d’agression et de violence sont particulièrement à risque de se retrouver un jour à la rue.

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Dernière mise à jour : 22 février 2017, 14:09

Avis

Restez loin de la grippe Qu'est-ce que le cannabis ? Les troubles anxieux existent. Les solutions aussi. Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille