Zika Virus

Context

The first cases of Zika virus disease have been reported in Africa and Asia since the 1950s. In 2007, there was an outbreak of the virus in Micronesia (Yap Island) in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. Between 2013 and 2015, other important outbreaks were reported in islands and archipelagos of the Pacific region. In 2015, the virus appeared in South America and Central America, where cases of infection have been reported locally. Since then, the Zika virus has continued to spread in the Americas. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have reported local transmission of Zika virus:

  • in southern Florida since August 2016
  • in the town of Browsville, Texas since November 28, 2016

For a list of all countries affected by the Zika virus, go to the World Health Organization (WHO)’s website.

Description

The Zika virus is primarily spread through the bite of an infected mosquito. Mosquitos that most often transmit the virus is widespread, but it is not found in Québec. Climatic conditions in Québec are not conducive to its development. During the 2016 surveillance period in Canada, the 2 main types of mosquitoes that can transmit the Zika virus were identified in southern Ontario. However, neither carried the virus. Officials in Ontario believe the mosquitoes came from the United States. They have not been identified elsewhere in Canada.

The incubation period for the Zika virus is 3 to 12 days. Most people infected by the virus (75% to 80%) show little or no symptoms at all. When symptoms appear, they are generally mild and last 2 to 7 days. The main symptoms of the virus are:

  • Low-grade fever (38.5°C or lower)
  • Muscle or joint pain, with possible swelling of the joints of the hands and feet
  • Red eyes
  • Skin rashes with small bumps on the face and body
  • Weakness, lack of energy and headaches

In rare cases, the Zika virus can cause serious illnesses such as:

  • Guillain-Barré syndrome (a neurological complication)
  • Birth defects (microcephaly, for example) that can affect the unborn child when a woman is infected with the virus during pregnancy

Treatment

Currently, there is no vaccine or treatment for the Zika virus. However, experimental vaccines are under review. Most infected people recover without treatment.

Transmission

The Zika virus is usually through the bite of an infected mosquito. It can also be transmitted sexually during vaginal, anal and oral sex. The virus has been found in the sperm of infected men up to several weeks after infection. It has also been found in women’s genital secretions for about 10 days after the onset of the virus. Little is known about how long the virus stays in women’s genital secretions.

Pregnant women can also transmit the virus to their fetuses during pregnancy.

The virus can be transmitted during a blood transfusion, but it’s rare. As a precautionary measure, Héma-Québec has added new eligibility criteria for blood donors. As of February 7, 2016, people who have travelled outside of the continental United States and Europe must wait 21 days after their return to Canada to donate blood. This measure is intended to prevent the risks associated with the transmission of Zika and similar viruses, such as dengue and chikungunya.

Surveillance of the Zika Virus in Québec

Although it is not a reportable disease in Québec, it is presently under enhanced surveillance.

Cases of the Zika virus disease confirmed by the Laboratoire de santé publique du Québec are reported to regional public health officials. Public health officials communicate with infected people to know:

  • Where they have been infected (region, country)
  • How they got infected (mosquito, sexual transmission, etc.)
  • The signs, symptoms and complications

As of February 1st, 2017, 91 cases of people infected with the Zika virus have been confirmed in Québec. Nearly all of these cases were acquired after a travel to a country where there is local transmission of Zika virus by mosquitos.

Situation in Canada

According to the Public Health Agency of Canada (PHAC), the risk of contracting Zika virus disease is very low for Canadians. It is mostly limited to people who travel or who live in areas where the virus circulates. In Canada, cases of Zika virus disease have been confirmed in people who were infected outside the country, by sexual transmission or by transmission from a mother to her fetus.

Traveller Information

Travellers who visit or plan on visiting places affected by the Zika virus should take individual measures to prevent mosquito bites. For example, they should:

  • Use mosquito repellent at all times during your outdoor activities, especially during the day
  • Wear protective clothing (long-sleeved shirts and long pants)
  • Put screens on doors and windows

More examples of measures to prevent mosquito bites are available on the Protecting Yourself from Mosquito and Tick Bites page.

These measures protect against mosquito bites that can spread several diseases, including the Zika virus, chikungunya, malaria and dengue.

People who travel to areas where the Zika virus is circulating should also protect themselves properly by using a barrier method during sex (a condom, for example) in order to prevent transmission of the virus. The use of a condom is recommended during vaginal, anal and oral sex with all partners for the duration of the trip. Men should continue wearing a condom up to 6 months after their trip, and women should consider using barrier methods to protect their sexual partners for at least 8 weeks after their return. These recommendations may be revised according to the evolution of the situation and of knowledge about the disease.

For health advice for people planning to travel to countries where there is active transmission of the Zika virus, see the government of Canada’s travel health notices.

Special precautions

Pregnant women

  • Pregnant women should postpone all planned trips to countries where the Zika virus is circulating, including the affected areas of South Florida and Texas. As a precaution, because there is a risk of the virus being transmitted to areas adjacent to where local transmission is known, pregnant women are advised to consider postponing travel all other parts of Florida and Texas. Pregnant women who cannot postpone their trip should discuss it with their prenatal health-care professional. They should also strictly apply personal measures to prevent mosquito bites. Upon their return, their doctor may recommend a blood test. Depending on the results, special prenatal care could be provided.
  • As current knowledge of sexual transmission of the Zika virus is limited,it is recommended that pregnant women use, throughout their pregnancy, a barrier method (condoms, for example) during vaginal, anal or oral sex with any partner who has travelled to a Zika-affected destination.

Women planning on becoming pregnant and their partner

  • Women planning on becoming pregnant should postpone all planned trips to countries where the Zika virus is circulating, including the affected areas of South Florida and Texas. As a precaution, because there is a risk of the virus being transmitted to areas adjacent to where local transmission is known, pregnant women are advised to consider postponing travel to other parts of Florida ans Texas.
  • Women who travel to a Zika-affected area should use effective contraception throughout their trip. They should also continue using contraception for two months after their return in order to prevent pregnancy.
  • Women who wish to be pregnant should also protect themselves if they have sex with a partner who has travelled to a Zika-affected area. Indeed, the presence of Zika has been detected in the sperm of infected men several weeks after infection. Women should wait 6 months after their male partner returns from a trip before having unprotected sex, or 2 months if their partner is a woman.

Useful Links

Last update: February 1, 2017 2:17 PM

Vaccination Vaccination Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor Healthy Lifestyle Habits Healthy Lifestyle Habits Registering with a Family Doctor

Gouvernement du Québec - Dirige vers l'accueil du Portail santé mieux-être
Portail santé mieux-être

Menu principal

Vous êtes ici:Accueil > Chroniques > Virus Zika

Virus Zika

Contexte

Depuis les années 1950, quelques cas d’infection au virus Zika ont été signalés en Afrique et en Asie. Le virus a causé une première épidémie en 2007 dans le sud-ouest de l’océan Pacifique. En 2015, ce virus est apparu en Amérique du Sud et en Amérique centrale, où des cas d’infection ont été déclarés localement. Depuis, le virus Zika a continué à se propager dans les Amériques.  Les autorités sanitaires de la Floride ont annoncé en août 2016 une transmission locale du virus Zika dans le sud de la Floride

Pour connaître les pays touchés par le virus Zika, consultez le site Web de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS).

Description

Le virus Zika est un virus qui se transmet principalement par la piqûre d’un moustique infecté. Le moustique qui transmet le plus souvent ce virus est très répandu dans le monde, mais il ne se trouve ni au Québec ni au Canada. Les conditions climatiques du Québec ne sont pas favorables à son développement.

La période d'incubation du virus Zika est de 3 à 12 jours. La majorité des personnes infectées par ce virus (75-80 %) ne présentent que peu ou pas de symptômes. Lorsque des symptômes sont présents, ils sont généralement bénins et durent de 2 à 7 jours. Les principaux symptômes sont les suivants :

  • fièvre peu élevée (38,5 °C ou moins);
  • douleurs musculaires ou articulaires avec gonflement possible des articulations des mains et des pieds;
  • yeux rouges;
  • rougeurs sur la peau avec présence de petites bosses sur le visage et sur le corps;
  • faiblesse, manque d'énergie et maux de tête.

 Dans de rares cas, le virus Zika peut causer des maladies plus graves telles que : 

  • le syndrome de Guillain-Barré (une complication neurologique);
  • des anomalies congénitales (par exemple la microcéphalie) pouvant affecter l’enfant à naître lorsqu’une femme est infectée par le virus pendant sa grossesse. 

Traitement

Actuellement, il n’existe ni vaccin ni traitement contre l'infection au virus Zika. Des vaccins expérimentaux sont toutefois à l’étude. La plupart des personnes infectées guérissent sans traitement. 

Transmission

Le virus se transmet généralement par la piqûre d’un moustique infecté. De plus, le virus peut aussi être transmis sexuellement  lors des relations sexuelles vaginales, anales et orales. La présence du virus Zika a été identifiée dans le sperme des hommes infectés jusqu’à plusieurs semaines après l’infection. Le virus a aussi été trouvé dans les sécrétions génitales féminines pendant une dizaine jours après le début de la maladie. La durée réelle de l'élimination du virus dans les sécrétions génitales féminine demeure encore peu connue.

La femme enceinte peut aussi transmettre le virus à son fœtus pendant sa grossesse.

La transmission du virus Zika lors de transfusion sanguine est aussi possible, mais très rare. Par mesure de précaution, Héma-Québec a ajouté un nouveau critère d'admissibilité pour les donneurs de sang. Depuis le 7 février 2016, une personne ayant séjourné ailleurs que dans la portion continentale des États-Unis ou en Europe devra attendre 21 jours après son retour au Canada pour faire un don de sang. Cette mesure vise à prévenir les risques liés à la transmission du virus Zika et de virus similaires comme les virus de la fièvre dengue et du chikungunya. 

Surveillance du virus Zika au Québec

La situation actuelle du virus Zika est considérée comme une urgence de santé publique internationale. L’OMS a donc sollicité la collaboration de tous les pays pour améliorer les connaissances sur ce sujet. Bien que l’infection par le virus Zika ne soit pas une maladie à déclaration obligatoire au Québec, celle-ci fait donc actuellement l’objet d’une vigilance accrue.

Les cas d’infection au virus Zika confirmés par le Laboratoire de santé publique du Québec sont signalés aux autorités de santé publique régionales. Les autorités de santé publique communiquent avec les personnes infectées pour savoir :

  • l’endroit (région, pays) où elles ont été infectées;
  • le mode de transmission (par moustique, transmission sexuelle, etc.);
  • les signes, les symptômes et les complications.

En date du 12 septembre 2016, 43cas de personnes infectées par le virus Zika ont été confirmés au Québec. 

Situation au Canada

Selon l’Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC), le risque de contracter le virus Zika est très faible pour les Canadiens. Il se limite principalement aux personnes qui voyagent ou qui vivent dans des régions où le virus circule. Au Canada, des cas d’infection au virus Zika ont été confirmés chez des personnes qui ont été infectées à l’extérieur du pays, par transmission sexuelle ou par transmission de la mère à son foetus.

Informations aux voyageurs

Les voyageurs qui visitent ou qui prévoient visiter les régions où il y a une transmission du virus Zika  devraient prendre des mesures individuelles pour prévenir les piqûres de moustiques. Elles devraient par exemple :

  • utiliser un chasse-moustique;
  • porter des vêtements protecteurs (vêtements longs);
  • placer des moustiquaires aux portes et aux fenêtres.

Vous trouverez d’autres exemples de mesures pour prévenir les piqûres de moustiques dans la page Se protéger des piqûres de moustiques et de tiques.

Ces mesures protègent contre les piqûres de moustiques qui peuvent transmettre plusieurs maladies telles que l’infection au virus Zika, le chikungunya, la malaria, la dengue, etc.

Les voyageurs qui se rendront dans les régions où circule le virus Zika devraient aussi se protéger adéquatement en utilisant une méthode barrière lors de relations sexuelles (par exemple avec un condom) pour prévenir la transmission du virus. L’utilisation d’un condom est recommandée lors des relations sexuelles vaginales, anales et orales avec tout partenaire, pendant toute la durée du voyage. Les hommes devraient continuer d’utiliser un condom jusqu’à 6 mois après leur retour de voyage et les femmes  devraient envisager l’utilisation de méthodes barrières pour protéger leur partenaire sexuel pendant au moins 8 semaines après leur retour de voyage. Ces recommandations pourraient être révisées en fonction de l’évolution de la situation et des connaissances sur la maladie.

Pour connaitre les conseils de santé recommandés aux voyageurs qui prévoient se rendre dans les pays où il y a transmission active du virus Zika, veuillez consulter l’actualité santé voyage de l’INSPQ et les conseils de santé aux voyageurs du Gouvernement du Canada.  

Précautions particulières

Femmes enceintes

  • Les femmes enceintes devraient reporter tout voyage prévu dans un pays où il y a transmission du virus Zika, y compris dans les secteurs affectés du sud  de la Floride. Par prudence, comme il peut y avoir un risque potentiel de transmission du virus dans les secteurs adjacents à ceux où une transmission locale est connue, il est recommandé à la femme enceinte de songer à reporter tout voyage dans les autres secteurs de la Floride. Les femmes enceintes qui ne peuvent reporter leur voyage devraient en discuter avec le professionnel de la santé qui assure le suivi de leur grossesse. Elles devront aussi appliquer rigoureusement les mesures de protection personnelle recommandées pour se protéger des piqûres de moustiques. Au retour, leur médecin pourrait leur recommander une prise de sang. Selon le résultat, un suivi de grossesse particulier pourrait leur être offert.
  • Comme les connaissances actuelles concernant la transmission sexuelle du virus Zika sont encore limitées, les CDC ont émis des recommandent aux femmes enceintes d’utiliser une méthode barrière (par exemple un condom) lors des relations sexuelles vaginales, anales ou orales avec tout partenaire ayant voyagé dans une zone de transmission du virus Zika pendant toute la durée de leur grossesse.

Femmes qui prévoient devenir enceintes et leur partenaire

  • Les femmes qui planifient une grossesse devraient reporter tout voyage prévu dans un pays où il y a transmission du virus Zika, y compris dans la zone affectée dans le sud de la Floride. Par prudence, comme il peut y avoir un risque potentiel de transmission du virus dans les secteurs adjacents à ceux où une transmission locale est connue, il est recommandé à la femme qui prévoit devenir enceinte de songer à reporter tout voyage dans les autres secteurs de la Floride.
  • Les femmes qui voyagent dans une zone de transmission du virus Zika devraient utiliser un moyen de contraception efficace durant tout leur voyage. Elles devraient aussi poursuivre la contraception jusqu’à 2 mois après leur retour, pour éviter de devenir enceintes.
  • Les femmes qui désirent devenir enceintes devraient aussi se protéger si elles ont des relations sexuelles avec un partenaire qui a voyagé dans une zone de transmission du virus Zika. En effet, la présence du virus Zika a été décelée dans le sperme d’hommes infectés pendant plusieurs semaines après l'infection. Les femmes devraient attendre 6 mois après le retour de voyage de leur partenaire masculin avant d’avoir des relations sexuelles non protégées, ou 2 mois s’il s’agit d’une partenaire féminine. 

Liens utiles

Dernière mise à jour : 13 septembre 2016, 14:26

Menu complémentaire