Shingles Vaccine

This page is currently being updated. Additional details will be published shortly.

Vaccination is the best protection against shingles and its complications. Shingles only appears in people who have already contracted chicken pox (varicella). Shingles is the result of the chicken pox virus being reactivated, as if chicken pox developed in a nerve. Shingles occurs at any age, but more frequently among the elderly. You cannot catch shingles from someone who has it. You can, however, catch chicken pox by direct contact with a shingle’s lesion.

The vaccine

Vaccination is the best protection against shingles and its complications. The vaccine is recommended for people age 60 and older. It is approximately 65% effective in preventing shingles, and this effectiveness is reduced with age. When shingles occurs despite vaccination, the risk of nevralgia is reduced by almost half.

Symptoms after vaccination

Some symptoms may be caused by the vaccine (e.g. redness at the injection site). Other problems may occur by chance and are not related to the vaccine (e.g. cold, gastro, headache).

Shingles vaccine is safe. In most cases, it does not cause any reaction.

Frequency Possible reactions to the vaccine What to do
Very often
(less than 50% of people)
  • Pain, redness and swelling at the infection site
  • Apply a cold, damp compress at the injection site.
  • Use medication for fever or discomfort if needed.
  • See a doctor symptoms are severe.
Often
(less than 10% of people)
  • Itching and warmth at the injection site

We recommend that you stay at the clinic for at least 15 minutes after vaccination because allergic reactions may occur. If an allergic reaction occurs, the symptoms will appear a few minutes after the vaccination. The person giving the vaccine will be able to treat this reaction immediately.

For any questions, contact the person giving the vaccine, or Info-Santé 811 or your doctor.

Last update: October 22, 2015 11:55 AM

Notice

A simple sting can harm you health! Registering with a Family Doctor Vaccination Vaccination Healthy Lifestyle Habits Healthy Lifestyle Habits

Vaccin contre le zona

Le contenu de cette page est en cours d'amélioration. Des renseignements complémentaires seront publiés prochainement.

La vaccination est le meilleur moyen de protection contre le zona et ses complications. Le zona apparaît seulement chez les personnes qui ont déjà eu la varicelle. En effet, le zona résulte de la réactivation du virus de la varicelle, comme si la varicelle se réveillait dans un nerf. Le zona survient à tout âge, mais plus souvent chez les personnes âgées. On n’attrape pas le zona d’une personne qui a le zona. Par contre, on peut attraper la varicelle par contact direct avec les lésions de zona.

Le vaccin

La vaccination est le meilleur moyen de protection contre le zona et ses complications. Le vaccin est recommandé aux personnes âgées de 60 ans et plus. Il est efficace à environ 65% pour prévenir le zona, et cette efficacité diminue avec l’âge. Lorsque le zona survient malgré la vaccination, le risque de névralgie diminue presque de moitié.

Les symptômes après la vaccination

Des symptômes peuvent être causés par le vaccin (ex. : rougeur à l’endroit où l’injection a été faite). D’autres problèmes peuvent arriver par hasard et n’ont aucun lien avec le vaccin (ex. : rhume, gastro, mal de tête).

Le vaccin contre le zona est sécuritaire. Dans la majorité des cas, il ne provoque aucune réaction.

Fréquence Réactions possibles au vaccin Ce qu'il faut faire
Très souvent
(moins de 50% des gens)
  • Douleur, rougeur, gonflement à l'endroit où l'injection a été faite
  • Appliquer une compresse humide froide à l'endroit où l'injection a été faite.
  • Utiliser un médicament contre la fièvre ou les malaises au besoin.
  • Consulter un médecin selon la gravité des symptômes.
Souvent
(moins de 10% des gens)
  • Démangeaisons, chaleur à l’endroit où l’injection a été faite

Il est recommandé de demeurer sur place au moins 15 minutes après une vaccination, car les réactions allergiques au vaccin sont toujours possibles. Si une réaction allergique survient, les symptômes apparaîtront quelques minutes après la vaccination. La personne qui donne le vaccin sera en mesure de traiter cette réaction immédiatement sur place.

Pour toute question, adressez-vous à la personne qui donne le vaccin, ou consultez Info-Santé 811 ou votre médecin.

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Dernière mise à jour : 22 octobre 2015, 11:56

Avis

Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Dépistage du cancer colorectal Dépistage du cancer colorectal Rendez-vous santé Québec