School-based vaccination

Description

Under the Québec Immunization Schedule, some vaccines are administered to children at school. They are provided free of charge in Grade 4 of primary school and in Secondary 3 of high school.

The school nurse administers the vaccines to children during vaccination sessions, usually in fall and spring. Parents do not have to take any action and the school provides them with all the information they need.

Consent for Vaccination

In Québec, anyone 14 years of age or over can give their consent for vaccination.

If a child is under 14 years of age, one of his or her parents or guardian must give their consent for vaccination. Consent of one parent is sufficient. If one parent disagrees with the other parent’s decision, a court will have to decide.

In all instances, the school nurse will provide the necessary information about the vaccines that will be administered so that an informed decision can be made.

General Tips

Before the vaccination session

You can prepare your child for vaccination. To find out more, consult the page Reducing the Pain and Anxiety of Vaccination in Children.

On the day of vaccination

Ask your child to wear a short-sleeved top. Give your child his or her vaccination record and remind him or her to show it at the vaccination session.

If your child is absent on the day of the vaccination, you will still be able to have him or her vaccinated free of charge. Follow the school nurse’s instructions or make an appointment at your local community services centre (CLSC). To find the contact information, consult the page Finding a CLSC

Multiple Injections

Some vaccines can be administered at the same time during the same vaccination session. These vaccines are called “multiple injections”. This is a common practice around the world. Scientific studies have shown that it is safe. Therefore, there is no risk for your child in having several vaccines at the same vaccination session. To find out more, consult the section Benefits of Multiple Injections.

Vaccines Administered at School

Vaccines administered in Grade 4 of primary school

Vaccine

The vaccine protects against:

Hepatitis A and Hepatitis B Vaccine

Hepatitis A and Hepatitis B

Human Papillomavirus (HPV) Vaccine

Human Papillomavirus (HPV)

The Hepatitis B Immunization Program for children in Grade 4 of primary school was launched in 1994. Since 2008, the Twinrix® vaccine, which protects against both hepatitis B and hepatitis A, has been administered to children. At present, Twinrix® is the only vaccine used in Québec’s school-based Hepatitis B Immunization Program.

Another immunization program aims to protect children in Grade 4 of primary school against human papilloma virus (HPV) infections. The HPV vaccine is recognized as a safe and effective way to prevent cervical cancer. When it was launched in 2008, the HPV Immunization Program was initially intended for young girls in Grade 4 of primary school. Since 2016, the program has also included boys in Grade 4. HPV causes a number of other health problems that affect both men and women. The objective of this immunization program is to protect as many people as possible from the consequences of HPV infections.

The school sends an information leaflet about vaccination to all parents of children in Grade 4 of primary school. A consent form is enclosed with the leaflet. If you have a child in Grade 4 of primary school, you must complete the form and return it to the school.

Your child will be given 2 doses of each vaccine 6 months apart, the 1st dose in fall and the 2nd dose in spring. For children in Grade 4, 2 doses of each vaccine are enough to provide effective protection against HPV infections and hepatitis.

Benefits of vaccination in Grade 4 of primary school

The hepatitis A and hepatitis B vaccine and HPV vaccine are given in Grade 4 of primary school for the following reasons:

  • The immune system responds best to these 2 vaccines between the ages of 9 and 11, when children are in Grade 4.
  • It is preferable for children to have the vaccine before they are exposed to these diseases.
  • School-based vaccination means that parents do not have to go to a local community services centre (CLSC) or doctor to have their child vaccinated.
Vaccines administered in Secondary 3 of high school

Vaccine

The vaccine protects against:

Meningococcal Serogroup C Conjugate Vaccine

Meningococcus

Combined tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough) vaccine (Tdap)

Students in Secondary 3 of high school are 14 years of age or older. They can give their consent to vaccination themselves. Therefore, parents of children in Secondary 3 of high school do not have to sign a consent form for their children.

Useful Websites

Last update: September 18, 2017 10:11 AM

Notice

Registering with a Family Doctor Radon awarness month Keep your distance from the flu Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions.

Vaccination en milieu scolaire

Description

Le calendrier de vaccination du Québec prévoit que les enfants reçoivent certains vaccins en milieu scolaire. Ces vaccins sont gratuits en 4e année du primaire et en 3e année du secondaire.

L’infirmière scolaire vaccine les enfants lors des séances de vaccination qui ont habituellement lieu à l’automne et au printemps. Les parents n’ont aucune démarche à faire et l’école leur fournit toute l’information nécessaire.

Consentement à la vaccination

Au Québec, toute personne âgée de 14 ans ou plus peut consentir seule à recevoir un vaccin.

Lorsqu’un enfant a moins de 14 ans, un de ses parents ou son tuteur doit donner son consentement à la vaccination. Le consentement d’un seul des 2 parents est suffisant. Lorsque l’un des 2 parents est en désaccord avec la décision de l’autre, un tribunal devra prendre la décision.

Dans tous les cas, l’infirmière scolaire transmet les renseignements nécessaires sur les vaccins à recevoir, afin qu’un choix éclairé puisse être fait.

Conseils généraux

Avant la séance de vaccination

Vous pouvez préparer votre enfant à la vaccination. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Diminuer la douleur et l'anxiété liées à la vaccination chez les enfants.

Le jour de la vaccination

Demandez à votre enfant de porter un chandail à manches courtes. Remettez-lui son carnet de vaccination et rappelez-lui de le présenter lors de la séance de vaccination.

Si votre enfant est absent de l’école le jour de la vaccination, vous pourrez quand même le faire vacciner gratuitement. Suivez les instructions de l’infirmière scolaire ou prenez rendez-vous à votre CLSC. Pour en trouver les coordonnées, consultez la page Trouver un CLSC.

Injections multiples

Certains vaccins peuvent être donnés en même temps, au cours d’une même séance de vaccination. Ces vaccins sont appelés « injections multiples ». Cette pratique est répandue dans le monde. Les études scientifiques ont montré qu’elle est sécuritaire. Votre enfant ne court donc aucun risque à recevoir plusieurs vaccins lors d’une même séance de vaccination. Pour en savoir plus, consulter la section Avantages des injections multiples.

Vaccins offerts à l'école

Vaccins administrés en 4e année du primaire

Vaccin

Le vaccin protège contre :

Vaccin contre l'hépatite A et l'hépatite B

Hépatites A et B

Vaccin contre les infections par les virus du papillome humain (VPH)

Virus du papillome humain (VPH)

Le programme de vaccination contre l’hépatite B pour les enfants de la 4e année du primaire a commencé en 1994. Depuis 2008, les enfants reçoivent le vaccin TwinrixMD, un vaccin qui protège à la fois contre l’hépatite B et l’hépatite A. Actuellement, TwinrixMD est le seul vaccin utilisé dans le cadre du programme de vaccination contre l’hépatite B en milieu scolaire au Québec.

Un autre programme de vaccination vise à protéger les enfants de la 4e année du primaire contre les infections par les virus du papillome humain (VPH). Le vaccin contre les infections par les VPH est reconnu comme un moyen de protection efficace et sécuritaire pour prévenir le cancer du col de l’utérus. Lancé en 2008, le programme de vaccination contre les infections par les VPH visait au départ les jeunes filles de la 4e année du primaire. Depuis 2016, ce programme inclut aussi les garçons de 4e année. En effet, les VPH entraînent plusieurs autres problèmes de santé qui affectent autant les hommes que les femmes. L’objectif de ce programme de vaccination est de protéger le plus grand nombre de personnes contre les conséquences des infections à VPH.

L’école fait parvenir un dépliant d’information sur la vaccination à tous les parents d’élèves de la 4e année du primaire. Le dépliant comprend un formulaire de consentement Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. à la vaccination. Si vous avez un enfant en 4e année du primaire, vous devez remplir ce formulaire et le retourner à l’école.

Votre enfant recevra 2 doses de chacun des vaccins à 6 mois d’intervalle, la 1re à l’automne et la 2e au printemps. À l’âge de la 4e année, 2 doses de chacun de ces vaccins suffisent pour assurer une bonne protection contre les VPH et les hépatites.

Avantages de vacciner en 4e année du primaire

Les vaccins contre les hépatites A et B et contre les infections par les VPH sont offerts en 4e année du primaire pour les raisons suivantes :

  • C’est à l’âge de la 4e année, soit entre 9 et 11 ans, que le système immunitaire répond le mieux à ces deux vaccins.
  • Il est préférable de vacciner l’enfant avant qu’il soit exposé à ces maladies.
  • La vaccination à l’école évite aux parents d’avoir à se déplacer au CLSC ou chez le médecin pour faire vacciner leur enfant.
Vaccins administrés en 3e année du secondaire

Vaccin

Le vaccin protège contre :

Vaccin conjugué contre le méningocoque de sérogroupe C

Méningocoque

Vaccin combiné contre la diphtérie, la coqueluche et le tétanos (dcaT)

Les élèves de 3e année du secondaire sont âgés de 14 ans ou plus. Ils peuvent donc consentir eux-mêmes à recevoir un vaccin. Les parents d’enfants en 3e année du secondaire n’ont donc pas à signer de formulaire de consentement pour autoriser leurs enfants à se faire vacciner.

Sites d'intérêt

Dernière mise à jour : 27 juillet 2017, 15:07

Avis

Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Vaccination Vaccination Dépistage du cancer colorectal Dépistage du cancer colorectal