Sickle Cell Anemia

Description

Sickle cell anemia is the most common form of severe haemoglobin disease.

Sickle cell anemia, also known as drepanocytosis, is a blood disease that affects the hemoglobin in the body’s red cells. It is often diagnosed during early childhood. While infection and pain are the most common health problems encountered by people who have sickle cell anemia, other very severe complications such as strokes may arise. Available treatment and medications can alleviate some of the symptoms and possibly avoid some complications.

Sickle cell anemia is a hereditary disease, which means that people who have it are born with it. It is also a chronic disease, which means that people who have it will have it for their entire lifetime, even if it is treated.

Other types of severe haemoglobin diseases exist, but they are rarer and their symptoms are variable. If any of these diseases is diagnosed through screening, appropriate treatment and medical monitoring will follow.

Understanding sickle cell anemia

Sickle cell anemia causes red blood cells to become “sickle-shaped” and prevents them from efficiently carrying oxygen to the body’s organs. The distorted red blood cells may accumulate in the narrow capillaries of the body and block normal blood circulation. Such blockage leads to a variety of symptoms and is the cause of most “sickle cell pain crises.”

Frequency in certain groups

Although sickle cell anemia can affect anyone, the disease is more prevalent among children whose parents are from Africa, the Mediterranean basin, the Caribbean, the Middle East and parts of India and South America.

Symptoms

The main signs of sickle cell anemia are the following:

  • Chronic anemia
  • Pain that varies from minor to acute, felt in various parts of the body and that may be long-lasting or could quickly dissipate.

The symptoms of sickle cell anemia can vary from one person to another, even if they are in the same family. Among the symptoms to watch for are the following:

  • Fever
  • Prolonged pain
  • Distended or enlarged abdomen (enlarged spleen)
  • Difficulty breathing
  • Painful and persistent penile erection
  • Headache
  • Stiff neck
  • Weakness or numbness of arms or legs
  • Change in vision
  • Severe abdominal pain

If your child has been diagnosed with sickle cell anemia, the document Sickle Cell Disease: A Family Handbook This link opens a new window.can help you recognize your child’s symptoms and learn the best ways to alleviate them. If these symptoms develop, your child needs to see a doctor without delay. Call your specialized treatment centre and go to the hematology clinic or emergency department.

Preventing sickle cell pain crises

Pain crises are frequent and highly debilitating for persons suffering from sickle cell anemia. For these persons, the following advices may help prevent pain crises:

  • Be attentive to the development of the signs and symptoms of the disease
  • Eat a balanced diet rich in proteins and folic acid, for example with more legumes, dark green vegetables, whole oranges or orange juice
  • Ensure good body and mouth hygiene
  • Drink lots of water
  • Avoid unnecessary stress
  • Avoid situations that lower your oxygen, such as  
    • Aircraft cabins that are not pressurized to 1500-2000 metres
    • Poorly ventilated areas
    • Walking outside in severe cold weather without appropriate winter clothing
    • Cold-water swims
  • Exercise regularly while hydrating sufficiently, so as to increase cardio-respiratory capacity
  • Prevent infection by getting vaccinated
  • See a medical practitioner regularly

Treatment

Various treatments are known to alleviate the symptoms of sickle cell anemia and prevent a lot of complications. For example, the preventive use of antibiotics can reduce the risk of bacterial infection. Seeing a doctor on a regular basis means that the treatment most appropriate to the state of health of the patient can be dispensed and improve the quality of their life.

Treatment in specialized centres

People suffering from sickle cell anemia need regular medical monitoring that is adapted to their state of health. This particular type of monitoring is handled by multidisciplinary teams associated with hematology clinics in specialized medical centres.

There are four specialized medical centres in Québec that treat children affected by sickle cell anemia:

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, also affiliated with the Centre hospitalier Maisonneuve-Rosemont;
  • Centre universitaire de santé McGill – Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants;
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec – Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval;
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke – Hôpital Fleurimont.

Other specialized centres, such as the following, treat adults suffering from sickle cell anemia:

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal – Hôpital Notre-Dame;
  • Centre universitaire de santé McGill – Hôpital Royal-Victoria.

For more information on how sickle cell anemia is treated, read Sickle Cell Disease: A Family Handbook This link opens a new window. or speak to your doctor.

Transmission

Sickle cell anemia is a recessive hereditary disease, which means that people who have this disease are born with it. It is not contagious, unlike, for example, the common cold.

A recessive hereditary disease can only be transmitted to a child if both parents are carriers of the sickle cell anemia gene and both pass it on. To understand the probability of transmission of the sickle cell anemia gene and of passing the disease to your child, visit: Transmission d’une maladie héréditaire récessive page (in French only).

Sickle Cell Anemia Gene Carrier Status

It is possible to determine whether babies born in all regions of Québec carry the sickle cell anemia gene. Carrier status is revealed by the same test that detects sickle cell anemia itself.

Children who carry the gene of this disease are not sick. If your child is a carrier of this gene, you will not be automatically contacted, as the result of the test is only shared on request.

Knowing the Carrier Status of Your Child

Your child’s carrier status will only become useful when he or she decides to have children. Information to help you understand the probabilities of you transmitting the gene of this disease or having an afflicted child is available on the Transmission d’une maladie héréditaire récessive page (in French only).

Reasons for learning your child's carrier status right now

Your child’s carrier status can provide an indication of your own carrier status and help you plan future pregnancies

Haemoglobin diseases are recessive hereditary disorders. If your child is a carrier, at least one of the child’s biological parents is also a carrier. If both parents carry the gene, for each pregnancy, the probability of having an afflicted child is 1 in 4, while the probability of a child being a carrier of the gene for the disease is 1 in 2.

You will have all information you need to inform your child at the appropriate time

Some parents want this information in order to warn their child of his or her carrier status before they are old enough to make a decision on starting a family of their own. This information will make it possible to take decisions with all the facts in hand.

You will be able to inform other members of your family

If your child is a carrier of a blood disease, other family members (brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, cousins) could also carry the gene.

Reasons for not learning your child's carrier status right now

There is no emergency

Carriers of the gene for this disease are not sick and are no more likely than anyone else to become afflicted. Carrier status is information that will be useful to your child later in life, when a decision to start a family is made. Some parents consider that this information is relevant but prefer to wait until their child is old enough to take a decision on its own.

The information could worry you needlessly about the health of your child

Some parents say that they tended to see their child as being more vulnerable once they know the screening results, even if this did not mean that the child was more at risk for health problems than other children. To avoid unnecessary stress, some parents prefer not to ask for the information right away.

The test only screens for sickle cell anemia gene carriers

Newborn blood and urinary screening only tests for sickle cell anemia gene carrier status. The screening does not test for other blood diseases, such as thalassemia.

Your child’s carrier status results do not necessarily reflect your own

Parents can be carriers of a haemoglobin disease even if their child is not.

There are other ways of finding out your child’s carrier status and/or your own

Testing to reveal if you are a haemoglobin disease carrier can take place at any age. If you come from a region of the world where haemoglobin diseases are common, speak with your doctor, who will be able to prescribe a test that will detect your own carrier status. Read the Frequency in certain groups section to see which groups of people are most likely to carry this gene.  

Carrier status can indirectly reveal non-paternity

When a child is identified as a carrier, its parents are advised to be tested to learn their own carrier status. That information can enable them to plan future pregnancies. On the other hand, the result could indirectly show that the father is not the child’s biological father.

Availability of screening results

You can request the results of your child’s sickle cell anemia screening test at any time. Once your child turns 14, he or she will also be able to obtain the screening results.

If no sickle cell anemia screening was performed on your child and you are concerned about you or your child being a carrier of the gene, you should speak with a doctor. To learn which groups of people are more likely to carry this gene, read the Frequency in certain groups section on the sickle cell anemia page.

Obtaining the results of the screening

You may request the results of the screening test for your child’s carrier status from your doctor or request it directly, using the following steps:

CHU de Québec staff will forward the results to you by mail within 10 business days of receiving your application. In addition to the results letter, you will receive general information about what being a carrier of the sickle cell anemia gene or not means.

The result of your child’s screening test for carrier status will remain confidential, long-term.

If you have other questions about carrier status, please ask your child’s doctor.

Support Group

The Association de l’anémie falciforme du Québec (Québec association for sickle cell disease) This link opens a new windowis a support group for children and families dealing with sickle cell anemia that provides various service such as family respite and mutual aid programs.

Was this page helpful?


  

Last update: March 29, 2018 12:21 PM

Notice

Avant de consommer, informez-vous. C'est important. Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions. Québec Health Booklet Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor

Anémie falciforme

Description

L'anémie falciforme est la forme la plus courante des maladies sévères de l'hémoglobine.

L'anémie falciforme, aussi appelée drépanocytose, est une maladie du sang qui affecte l'hémoglobine contenue dans les globules rouges. Elle est souvent diagnostiquée pendant la petite enfance. Les infections et la douleur sont les problèmes de santé les plus fréquemment rencontrés par les personnes atteintes d'anémie falciforme. La personne atteinte risque d'avoir des complications qui peuvent être très graves comme des accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Des traitements et des médicaments permettent de soulager certains symptômes et, possiblement, d'éviter certaines complications.

L'anémie falciforme est une maladie héréditaire, ce qui veut dire que la personne atteinte est née avec cette maladie. C'est aussi une maladie chronique, c'est-à-dire qu'elle dure toute la vie, et ce, même si elle est traitée.

Il existe d'autres formes de maladies sévères de l'hémoglobine. Celles-ci sont plus rares et leurs symptômes peuvent varier. Si le diagnostic de l'une de ces maladies est confirmé, un traitement et un suivi médical appropriés seront effectués auprès de la personne atteinte.

Comprendre l'anémie falciforme

L'anémie falciforme cause la déformation des globules rouges et les empêche de transporter efficacement l'oxygène aux organes du corps. Les globules rouges déformés peuvent alors s'accumuler dans les petits vaisseaux sanguins et bloquer la circulation du sang. Ce blocage entraîne différents symptômes et cause la plupart des « crises de douleur» associées à l'anémie falciforme.

Fréquence dans certains groupes

N'importe qui peut être atteint d'anémie falciforme. Cependant, cette maladie est plus courante chez les personnes originaires de l'Afrique, de la Méditerranée, des Caraïbes, du Moyen-Orient ainsi que de certaines régions de l'Inde et de l'Amérique du Sud.

Symptômes

Les principaux signes sont :

  • une anémie chronique;
  • une douleur qui peut varier en intensité (de légère à aiguë), elle peut être ressentie dans différentes parties du corps et elle peut durer longtemps ou disparaître rapidement.

Les symptômes de l'anémie falciforme sont variables d'une personne à l'autre même si elles font partie de la même famille. Les symptômes à surveiller sont :

  • la fièvre;
  • la douleur prolongée;
  • le gonflement du ventre (rate enflée);
  • des difficultés respiratoires;
  • des érections douloureuses et persistantes;
  • le mal de tête;
  • des raideurs au cou (torticolis);
  • des faiblesses ou l'engourdissement des bras ou des jambes;
  • des problèmes de vision;
  • un mal de ventre intense.

Si l'anémie falciforme a été diagnostiquée chez votre enfant, le guide L'anémie falciforme : Un guide pour la famille Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. est un document essentiel qui vous aidera à reconnaître les symptômes que présentent votre enfant et les meilleures façons de les soulager. Si ces symptômes apparaissent, votre enfant doit consulter un médecin rapidement. Dès que cela est possible, appelez votre centre spécialisé et rendez-vous à la clinique d'hématologie ou à l'urgence.

Prévention des crises de douleurs chez les personnes atteintes

Les crises de douleur sont fréquentes et très incommodantes chez les personnes atteintes d'anémie falciforme. Si vous êtes atteint de l'anémie falciforme, vous pouvez prévenir ces crises de douleur en posant certains gestes :

  • être attentif à l'apparition des signes et symptômes de la maladie;
  • adopter une alimentation équilibrée et riche en protéines et en acide folique, par exemple, en consommant plus de légumineuses, de légumes vert foncé, d'oranges entières ou en jus;
  • avoir une bonne hygiène corporelle et dentaire;
  • boire beaucoup d'eau;
  • éviter le stress inutile;
  • éviter les situations qui réduisent votre taux d'oxygène :
    • les voyages dans un avion non pressurisé (1500-2000m),
    • les endroits mal aérés,
    • les promenades à l'extérieur par grand froid sans être bien habillé,
    • les baignades en eau froide;
  • faire de l'exercice régulier tout en s'hydratant suffisamment pour augmenter sa capacité cardio-respiratoire;
  • se faire vacciner pour prévenir les infections;
  • avoir un suivi médical régulier.

Traitements

Plusieurs traitements permettent de soulager les symptômes de l'anémie falciforme et de prévenir un grand nombre de complications. Par exemple, la prise d'antibiotique de manière préventive permet de diminuer les risques d'infections bactériennes. Des visites régulières chez le médecin permettent d'obtenir les traitements les plus appropriés selon l'état de santé de la personne atteinte. Ces traitements permettent d'améliorer la qualité de vie.

Traitement dans un centre spécialisé

Les personnes atteintes de l'anémie falciforme ont besoin d'un suivi médical régulier et adapté à leur état de santé. Ce suivi particulier s'effectue dans les centres spécialisés, par une équipe multidisciplinaire associée à une clinique d'hématologie.

Au Québec, 4 centres spécialisés assurent le traitement et le suivi des enfants atteints d'anémie falciforme :

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire Sainte-Justine, auquel est également affilié le Centre hospitalier Maisonneuve-Rosemont;
  • Centre universitaire de santé McGill – Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants;
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec – Centre hospitalier de l'Université Laval;
  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Sherbrooke – Hôpital Fleurimont.

D'autres centres spécialisés assurent le traitement et le suivi des personnes atteintes d'anémie falciforme à l'âge adulte :

  • Centre hospitalier universitaire de Montréal – Hôpital Notre-Dame;
  • Centre universitaire de santé McGill – Hôpital Royal-Victoria.

Pour plus d'information sur le traitement de l'anémie falciforme, consultez le guide L'anémie falciforme : Un guide pour la famille Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. ou parlez-en à votre médecin.

Transmission

L'anémie falciforme est une maladie héréditaire récessive, ce qui veut dire que la personne atteinte est née avec cette maladie. Elle n'est pas contagieuse, c'est-à-dire que la maladie ne s'attrape pas comme le rhume.

Une maladie héréditaire récessive se transmet à l'enfant seulement lorsque les 2 parents sont porteurs du gène de la maladie et qu'ils transmettent tous les 2 ce gène à leur enfant. Pour comprendre quelles sont les probabilités de transmettre le gène de la maladie ou d'avoir un enfant atteint, consultez la page Transmission d'une maladie héréditaire récessive.

Statut de porteur du gène de l'anémie falciforme

Il est possible de connaître le statut de porteur du gène de l'anémie falciforme pour les bébés nés dans toutes les régions du Québec. Le statut de porteur est découvert lors du même test que celui qui est utilisé pour dépister l'anémie falciforme.

Les enfants porteurs du gène de la maladie ne sont pas malades. Si votre enfant est porteur du gène de la maladie, vous ne serez pas contacté. Ce résultat est transmis sur demande seulement.

Connaître le statut de porteur de votre enfant

Le résultat du statut de porteur sera utile à votre enfant seulement lorsqu'il décidera d'avoir à son tour des enfants. Pour comprendre quelles sont les probabilités de transmettre le gène de la maladie ou d'avoir un enfant atteint, consultez la page Transmission d’une maladie héréditaire récessive.

Raisons de demander maintenant le statut

Le statut de porteur de votre enfant peut donner une indication sur votre propre statut de porteur et  cela peut vous permettre de planifier de futures grossesses

Les maladies de l'hémoglobine sont des maladies héréditaires récessives. Si votre enfant est porteur, cela signifie qu'au moins un des parents biologiques l'est aussi. Il est également possible que vous soyez tous les deux porteurs. Si c'était le cas, à chaque grossesse, il y aurait alors une probabilité de 1 sur 4 que votre enfant soit atteint d'une maladie de l'hémoglobine et de 1 sur 2 que votre enfant soit porteur du gène de la maladie.

Vous aurez toute l'information pour aviser votre enfant le temps venu

Certains parents désirent connaître cette information pour aviser leur enfant de son statut de porteur. Ainsi, lorsqu'il aura atteint l'âge de fonder sa propre famille, cette information pourrait lui permettre de faire des choix en toute connaissance de cause.

Vous pourrez en informer d'autres membres de votre famille

Si votre enfant est porteur d'une maladie de l'hémoglobine, d'autres membres de la famille (frères, sœurs, tantes, oncles, cousins) pourraient l'être aussi.

Raisons de ne pas demander maintenant le statut

Il n'y a pas d'urgence

Les porteurs du gène de la maladie ne sont pas malades et ils ne sont pas plus susceptibles que les autres de le devenir. Le statut de porteur est une information qui sera utile à l'enfant seulement au moment où il désirera fonder une famille. Certains parents estiment que cette information est pertinente pour leur enfant, mais préfèrent attendre qu'il soit en âge de décider lui-même d'en faire la demande.

Cette information pourrait vous inquiéter inutilement sur la santé de votre enfant

Certains parents disent avoir eu tendance à considérer leur enfant comme étant plus vulnérable à la suite de ce résultat, et ce, même s'il n'avait pas plus de risque d'être malade que les autres. Pour éviter ce stress inutile, certains parents préfèrent ne pas demander l'information tout de suite.

Le test révèle seulement les résultats de porteurs du gène de l'anémie falciforme

Dans le cadre du dépistage sanguin et urinaire chez les nouveau-nés, seul le statut de porteur du gène de l'anémie falciforme est découvert. Certains résultats associés à d'autres maladies de l'hémoglobine, comme la thalassémie, ne sont pas fournis par le test de dépistage.

Le résultat de votre enfant n'indique pas nécessairement votre statut de porteur

Les parents peuvent être porteurs du gène d'une maladie de l'hémoglobine sans que leur enfant le soit.

Il existe d'autres moyens de connaître votre état de porteur ou l'état de porteur de votre enfant

Des analyses sanguines peuvent être effectuées à tout âge pour savoir si vous êtes porteur d'une maladie de l'hémoglobine. Si vous provenez d'une région du monde où les maladies de l'hémoglobine sont fréquentes, parlez-en à votre médecin.  Il pourra vous prescrire un test pour connaître votre statut de porteur directement. Consultez la section Fréquence dans certains groupes pour connaître les personnes qui sont plus susceptibles d'être porteuses de ce gène.  

Le statut de porteur peut révéler indirectement la non-paternité

Lorsqu'un enfant est identifié comme porteur, il est conseillé aux parents de passer le test pour qu'ils puissent connaître chacun leur statut de porteur. Cela leur permet de planifier les futures grossesses. Par contre, ce résultat pourrait révéler indirectement que le père n'est pas le père biologique de l'enfant.

Disponibilité du résultat

En tout temps, vous pouvez demander le résultat de statut de porteur du gène de l'anémie falciforme de votre enfant. Il pourra aussi demander lui-même son résultat dès qu'il aura 14 ans.

Si aucun test de dépistage de l'anémie falciforme n'a été réalisé sur votre enfant et que vous vous questionnez sur son statut de porteur ou sur le vôtre, parlez-en à un médecin. Pour connaître les personnes qui sont plus susceptibles d'être porteuses de ce gène, consultez la section Fréquence dans certains groupes.

Demande du résultat

Pour obtenir le résultat du statut de porteur de votre enfant, vous pouvez le demander au médecin de votre enfant ou faire la demande en suivant ces étapes :

À la réception de votre demande, les responsables du CHU de Québec vous feront parvenir le résultat par la poste dans les 10 jours ouvrables. La lettre contenant le résultat sera accompagnée de l'information générale sur ce que signifie être porteur ou non du gène de l'anémie falciforme.

Le résultat du statut de porteur de votre enfant est conservé de manière confidentielle à long terme.

Si vous avez d'autres questions sur le statut de porteur, n'hésitez pas à en discuter avec le médecin de votre enfant.

Groupe de soutien

L'Association d'anémie falciforme du Québec Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre. est un groupe de soutien aux enfants et à leur famille qui sont aux prises avec l'anémie falciforme. Elle offre plusieurs services comme des programmes de répit familial et d'entraide.

Est-ce que l'information de cette page vous a été utile?


  

Dernière mise à jour : 28 mars 2018, 11:58

Avis

Avant de consommer, informez-vous. C'est important. Dépendances Les troubles anxieux existent. Les solutions aussi. Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille