Colorectal Cancer Screening (colon and rectum)

Description

Colorectal cancer, commonly known as colon cancer, generally develops very slowly. A person can have the cancer for years without showing any symptoms. 

Screening aims to detect and treat colorectal cancer before the onset of signs and symptoms. Usually, at the time of screening, the cancer is at an early stage and the chances of curing it are higher. 

Persons covered

Screening is especially for people between the ages of 50 and 74, as the risk of developing colorectal cancer increases from the age of 50. 

Screening can begin before the age of 50 for people who have a higher risk of developing colorectal cancer. 

Screening Method

People at average risk 

In Québec, screening for colorectal cancer in individuals at average risk, without symptoms and other risk factors, is recommanded every 2 years. Screening is done using the immunochemical fecal occult blood test (iFOBT). This test does not show whether you have colorectal cancer or not, but it detects the presence of blood in the stool, which can be a sign of cancer. 

When results of an iFOBT indicate the presence of blood in the stool, the doctor recommends another exam called a colonoscopy. This procedure permits the examination of the large intestine to check whether or not there is a cancer. 

People at high risk 

In the case of individuals at high risk, the doctor determines the screening method according to each person’s particular situation. 

If this is your case, discuss with your doctor about recommendations that apply to you. 

Benefits and Limitations of Screening with an iFOBT

You can decide whether or not to do a colorectal screening test. It is a personal choice that belongs to you. If you have questions or concerns on the matter, discuss them with your doctor. 

Benefits 

Screening reduces the risk of dying of colorectal cancer. For every 1,000 individuals screened, 5 deaths are prevented. 

Colorectal cancer usually develops very slowly. Getting an iFOBT every 2 years increases the chances that the cancer is discovered and treated at an early stage. The necessary treatments could also be less aggressive. 

In addition, when a colonoscopy is necessary, the doctor can see if there are polyps on the inner lining of the large intestine.  Polyps are small masses of flesh that can transform into colorectal cancer. The doctor can thus remove them before they become cancerous. 

Limitations 

Despite all the benefits, screening with an iFOBT is not perfect.

  • In some cases, the test can detect blood in the stool without there being cancer or polyps

    Such cases are rare. Of 1,000 individuals that take the test, about 15 people receive this result. These few people must subsequently have a colonoscopy that is not needed and may have polyps removed unnecessarily.

    In addition, colonoscopies may result in certain complications. To learn more, see the Colonoscopy page.
  • On the contrary, people who have colorectal cancer may receive a negative test result

    This happens in about 20% of people with colorectal cancer. Their cancer goes undetected. Indeed, no screening test, colonoscopy included, guarantees that a cancer will be detected. That’s why it is recommended that you do the iFOBT every 2 years in order to increase the chances of detecting cancer

Screening allows detection of the cancer when it is in its early stages and increases the chances of healing. However, a number of people die each year from colorectal cancer even if they had a screening.

A Few Statistics

Of 1,000 people that take an iFOBT, 36 will receive a positive test result and will then have a colonoscopy. Of these 36 people: 

  • 4 will have colorectal cancer
  • 17 will have one or more polyps removed
  • 15 will have neither cancer nor polyps

Last update: June 22, 2017 2:07 PM

Notice

What is cannabis ? Registering with a Family Doctor Healthy Lifestyle Habits Healthy Lifestyle Habits Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor

Dépistage du cancer colorectal (côlon et rectum)

Description

Le cancer colorectal, communément appelé cancer du côlon, se développe généralement très lentement. Une personne peut avoir ce cancer pendant des années avant d’avoir des symptômes.

Le dépistage vise à détecter et à traiter le cancer colorectal avant l’apparition de signes et de symptômes. Généralement, au moment du dépistage, le cancer est à un stade peu avancé et les possibilités de guérison sont meilleures.

Personnes visées

Le dépistage s’adresse surtout aux personnes de 50 ans à 74 ans, puisque le risque de développer un cancer colorectal augmente à partir de 50 ans.  

Le dépistage pourrait commencer avant l’âge de 50 ans pour les personnes qui ont un risque plus élevé de développer un cancer colorectal.

Méthode de dépistage

Personnes à risque moyen

Au Québec, le dépistage du cancer colorectal chez les personnes à risque moyen, sans symptômes et sans autre facteur de risque, est recommandé tous les 2 ans. Le dépistage se fait à l’aide du test immunochimique de recherche de sang occulte dans les selles (RSOSi). Ce test ne permet pas de savoir si vous avez ou non un cancer colorectal, mais il permet de détecter la présence de sang dans les selles, qui peut être un signe d’un cancer.

Lorsque le résultat du test de RSOSi indique la présence de sang dans les selles, le médecin recommande un autre examen pour établir le diagnostic, la coloscopie longue. Cet examen permet de visualiser l’intérieur du gros intestin pour vérifier s’il y a ou non un cancer.

Personnes à risque plus élevé

Dans le cas des personnes qui ont un risque plus élevé, le médecin détermine la méthode de dépistage en fonction de la situation particulière de chaque personne.

Si vous êtes dans cette situation, discutez avec votre médecin des recommandations qui s’appliquent pour vous.

Avantages et limites du dépistage par RSOSi

Vous pouvez décider de passer un test de dépistage du cancer colorectal ou non. C’est un choix personnel, qui vous appartient. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations à ce sujet, discutez-en avec votre médecin.

Avantages

Le dépistage diminue le risque de mourir d’un cancer colorectal. Sur 1 000 personnes qui passent un test de dépistage, 5 décès sont évités.

Le cancer colorectal se développe généralement très lentement. Passer le test de RSOSi tous les 2 ans augmente donc les chances que le cancer soit découvert et traité à un stade peu avancé. Les traitements nécessaires pourraient aussi être moins agressifs.

De plus, lorsqu’une coloscopie longue est nécessaire, le médecin peut voir s’il y a des polypes sur les parois internes du gros intestin. Les polypes sont de petites masses de chair qui peuvent se transformer en cancer colorectal. Le médecin peut ainsi les enlever avant qu’ils deviennent cancéreux.

Limites

Malgré tous ses avantages, le dépistage à l’aide du test de RSOSi n’est pas parfait.

  • Dans certains cas, le test peut détecter du sang dans les selles alors qu’il n’y a ni cancer ni polype.

    Cette situation est rare. Sur 1 000 personnes qui passent le test, environ 15 personnes reçoivent un tel résultat. Ces quelques personnes passent donc ensuite une coloscopie longue qui n’est pas nécessaire et peuvent parfois se faire enlever des polypes inutilement.

    De plus, la coloscopie longue peut entraîner certaines complications. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Coloscopie longue.
     
  • Au contraire, des personnes qui ont un cancer colorectal peuvent recevoir un résultat de test normal.

    Cette situation se produit pour environ 20% des personnes qui ont un cancer colorectal. Leur cancer est passé inaperçu. En effet, aucun examen de dépistage, même la coloscopie longue, ne permet de garantir qu’un cancer sera détecté. C’est pourquoi il est recommandé de répéter le test de RSOSi tous les 2 ans, car cela augmente les possibilités que le cancer soit détecté.

Par ailleurs, le dépistage permet de détecter le cancer lorsqu’il est à un stade peu avancé, augmentant ainsi les possibilités de guérison. Toutefois, un certain nombre de personnes décèdent chaque année d’un cancer colorectal, même si elles avaient passé un test de dépistage.

Quelques chiffres

Sur 1 000 personnes qui passent le test de RSOSi, 36 recevront un résultat de test anormal et passeront ensuite une coloscopie longue. Sur ces 36 personnes :

  • 4 auront un cancer colorectal;
  • 17 se feront enlever un ou plusieurs polypes;
  • 15 n’auront ni cancer ni polypes.

Dernière mise à jour : 22 juin 2017, 14:07

Rendez-vous santé Québec Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Saines habitudes Saines habitudes