Researching Information on Adoption and Biological History, Biological Parents or Adopted Biological Child

Bill 113, An Act to amend the Civil Code and other legislative provisions as regards adoption and the disclosure of information, was passed on June 16, 2017. Several of the provisions introduced by this Act into the Civil Code and the Youth Protection Act will come into effect on the dates set by the government, no later than June 16, 2018. In the meantime, the current provisions will continue to apply.

For more information, see Amendments to the Legislation.

The information on this page does not replace that of the official legislation.

Individuals Adopted in Québec or Biological Parents of a Child Adopted in Québec

Adopted persons or adoptable persons who are not adopted may obtain information on their social and biological history and biological parents. They may also get help with contacting their biological parents if the latter have consented. Biological parents who have given a child up for adoption and the adoptive parents also have access to similar services. All such requests can lead to reunions.

These services are offered free of charge by integrated health and social services centres offering protection and rehabilitation services for youths in trouble of adaptation and their families. Depending on the region, these services are provided by either integrated health and social services centres (CISSS) or integrated university health and social services centres (CIUSSS).

Call the CISSS or CIUSSS adoption services in the region or territory where the adoption judgment was issued to receive more information on:

  • Your adoption and biological history
  • Your biological parents
  • Your adopted biological child

If you are an adoptable individual who has not been adopted, contact the CISSS or CIUSSS in charge of your child protection file. If in doubt, contact the CISSS or CIUSSS in your region.

Once a request is received, the CISSS or CIUSSS looks for the information in the archives and records of the healthcare institution where the child was born.

The applicant receives a summary of his or her antecedents based on the information contained in the adoption file. The information given in the summary protects the identities of the biological parents, the adopted child and the adoptive parents. This respect for the anonymity of persons is in accordance with the rules prescribed by the Civil Code of Québec and the Youth Protection Act. At this stage, applicants can receive psychosocial support if they wish or if they fear the information revealed may be upsetting.

Amendments to the Legislation

Bill 113, “An Act to amend the Civil Code and other legislative provisions as regards adoption and the disclosure of information”, was adopted on June 16, 2017. The new legislation replaces provisions in the Civil Code and the Youth Protection Act. Several of these provisions will come into effect on various dates set by the government by June 16, 2018. In the meantime, the current provisions will continue to apply.

Persons adopted in Québec prior to the law coming into effect

  • Your identity will remain protected and your personal information will remain confidential. This means, unless you consent to it, your identity cannot be revealed to your biological mother or father if they request it. If you agree that your identity and your information can be revealed to your biological parents, you must notify the appropriate authorities.
  • If the information is available, you will have the right to know your original first and last name when the law comes into effect starting June 16, 2018.
  • Twelve months after the law comes into effect, meaning June 16, 2019 at the latest, you will have the right to know the first and last names of your biological mother or father if they did not contact the appropriate authorities to indicate their refusal to have their identity disclosed.  

    In the event that your biological mother or father are dead, you will have the right to know their first and last name when the law comes into effect on June 16, 2018, if on that date, the parent has been dead for one year or longer. If, when the law comes into effect, your mother or father has not been dead for a year or longer, you must wait for a year to pass after the death to have access to information.

  • Twelve months after the law takes effect, meaning June 16, 2019 at the latest, you will be entitled to obtain information that will allow you to contact your biological mother or father. This will be possible if your biological parent has not indicated that he or she has refused to allow this information to be disclosed.

Persons adopted in Québec and their biological brothers and sisters

If you were adopted in Québec, or if you are the biological brother or sister of a person adopted in Québec, you will have the right to obtain information regarding the identity of your biological brothers and sisters, whether or not they have been adopted. You will also have the right to obtain information that will allow you to contact them.

You can do this from June 2019. However, the following 2 conditions apply:

  • Both of your brother or sister and you have both requested to know each other’s identity and to contact one another.
  • Disclosure of this information does not reveal the identity of either of your biological parents if they notified the appropriate authorities of their refusal to have their identity disclosed. This condition does not apply to biological parents who have been dead for a year or longer.

Persons who have given a child up for adoption in Québec prior to the law coming into effect

Your adopted child may know your identify starting June 2019, if he or she requests it.

However, if you want your identity to remain confidential, you can notify the appropriate authorities. You can do so by telephone starting June 2018. A telephone line will be established for that purpose. If you have already requested that your identity remains confidential, you do not need to submit a new request.

Information regarding the identity of your biological child will remain confidential. You will therefore be unable to receive information in that regard.

Individuals Adopted Abroad or Biological Parents of a Child Who Was Adopted Abroad

Persons who were adopted abroad or the parents of a child who was adopted abroad must contact the Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale This link open a new window..

To learn more

For more information on adoption and biological history, biological parents or adopted biological child, contact the CISSS or CIUSSS offering protection and rehabilitation services for youths in trouble of adaptation in your region.

Last update: July 24, 2017 11:34 AM

Notice

What is cannabis ? Radon awarness month Registering with a Family Doctor Keep your distance from the flu

Rechercher de l'information sur ses antécédents sociobiologiques, sur ses parents biologiques ou sur son enfant biologique adopté

Le projet de loi no 113 intitulé « Loi modifiant le Code civil et d’autres dispositions législatives en matière d’adoption et de communication de renseignements » a été adopté le 16 juin 2017. La nouvelle loi remplace des dispositions au Code civil et à la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse. Plusieurs de ces dispositions entreront en vigueur à différentes dates fixées par le gouvernement d’ici au 16 juin 2018. D’ici là, les dispositions actuelles continuent de s’appliquer.

Pour plus de détails, consultez la section Modifications à la loi.

L'information contenue dans cette page ne remplace pas celle du texte de loi, qui a valeur officielle.

Personnes adoptées au Québec ou parents biologiques d'un enfant adopté au Québec

Une personne adoptée ou une personne adoptable mais non adoptée peut obtenir de l’information sur ses antécédents sociaux et biologiques et sur ses parents biologiques. Elle peut également obtenir de l’aide pour prendre contact avec ses parents biologiques, si ceux-ci y consentent. Les parents biologiques qui ont confié un enfant en adoption et les parents adoptifs peuvent aussi bénéficier de services semblables. Toutes ces demandes peuvent conduire à des retrouvailles.

Ces services sont offerts gratuitement par les centres intégrés de santé et de services sociaux offrant des services de protection et de réadaptation pour les jeunes en difficulté d’adaptation et leur famille. Selon les régions, il peut s’agir d’un centre intégré de santé et de services sociaux (CISSS) ou d’un centre intégré universitaires de santé et de services sociaux (CIUSSS).

Vous devez téléphoner au service d’adoption du CISSS ou du CIUSSS de la région ou du territoire où le jugement d’adoption a été prononcé pour obtenir de l’information sur :

  • vos antécédents sociobiologiques;
  • vos parents biologiques;
  • votre enfant biologique adopté.

Si vous êtes une personne adoptable mais non adoptée, communiquez avec le CISSS ou CIUSSS responsable de votre dossier de suivi en protection de la jeunesse. En cas de doute, vous pouvez communiquer avec le CISSS ou le CIUSSS de votre région.

Lorsqu’il reçoit une demande, le CISSS ou le CIUSSS fait une recherche de renseignements dans les archives et les dossiers de l’établissement de santé où l’enfant est né.

Le demandeur reçoit un sommaire d’antécédents sociobiologiques établi à partir de l’information contenue dans le dossier d’adoption. L’information transmise dans ce sommaire protège l’identité des parents biologiques, de l’enfant adopté et des parents adoptifs. Ce respect de l’anonymat des personnes est conforme aux règles prescrites par le Code civil du Québec et par la Loi sur la protection de la Jeunesse. À cette étape, le ou les demandeurs peuvent bénéficier d’un accompagnement psychosocial s’ils le désirent ou s’ils craignent que la révélation des renseignements transmis suscite des bouleversements.

Modifications à la loi

Le projet de loi n° 113 intitulé « Loi modifiant le Code civil et d’autres dispositions législatives en matière d’adoption et de communication de renseignements » a été adopté le 16 juin 2017. La nouvelle loi remplace des dispositions au Code civil et à la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse. Plusieurs de ces dispositions entreront en vigueur à différentes dates fixées par le gouvernement d’ici au 16 juin 2018. D’ici là, les dispositions actuelles continuent de s’appliquer.

Personnes adoptées au Québec avant l’entrée en vigueur de la loi

  • Votre identité demeurera protégée et les renseignements qui vous concernent demeureront confidentiels. Cela signifie que votre identité ne pourra pas être révélée à votre mère ou votre père biologique s’il en fait la demande, sauf si vous y consentez. Si vous acceptez que votre identité et les renseignements qui vous concernent soient communiqués à votre parent biologique, vous devrez en informer les autorités concernées.
  • Vous aurez le droit de connaître votre prénom et votre nom d’origine à l’entrée en vigueur de la loi, soit à partir du 16 juin 2018, si ces renseignements sont disponibles.
  • Douze mois après la date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi, soit à partir du 16 juin 2019 au plus tard, vous aurez le droit de connaître le prénom et le nom de votre mère ou de votre père biologique si ceux-ci n’ont pas communiqué avec les autorités concernées pour signifier leur refus que leur identité soit communiquée.

    Dans le cas où votre mère ou votre père biologique serait décédé, vous aurez le droit de connaître son prénom et son nom à la date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi, soit au plus tard le 16 juin 2018, si, à cette date, elle ou il est décédé depuis 1 an ou plus. Si, au moment de l’entrée en vigueur de la loi, votre mère ou père n’est pas décédé depuis 1 an ou plus, vous devrez attendre qu’un an se soit écoulé après le décès pour avoir accès aux renseignements.

  • Douze mois après la date d’entrée en vigueur de la loi, soit au plus tard le 16 juin 2019, vous aurez le droit d’obtenir les renseignements qui vous permettront de prendre contact avec votre mère ou père biologique. Cette démarche sera possible à condition que votre parent biologique n’ait pas indiqué aux autorités concernées qu’il refusait que ces renseignements soient communiqués.

Personnes adoptées au Québec et leurs frères et sœurs biologiques

Si vous avez été adopté au Québec, ou si vous êtes le frère ou la sœur biologique d’une personne adoptée au Québec, vous aurez le droit d’obtenir des renseignements concernant l’identité de vos frères et sœurs biologiques, qu’ils aient été adoptés ou non. Vous aurez aussi le droit d’obtenir les renseignements qui vous permettront de prendre contact avec eux.

Vous pourrez faire cette démarche à partir du mois de juin 2019. Les 2 conditions suivantes devront toutefois être respectées :

  • votre frère ou votre sœur et vous-même demandez tous les deux à connaître votre identité ou à entrer en contact;
  • la communication de ces renseignements ne révèle pas l’identité de l’un ou l’autre de vos parents biologiques, s’il a indiqué aux autorités concernées son refus que son identité soit communiquée. Cette condition ne concerne pas les parents biologiques qui sont décédés depuis 1 an ou plus.

Personnes ayant confié un enfant en adoption au Québec avant l’entrée en vigueur de la loi

Votre enfant adopté pourra connaître votre identité à partir du mois de juin 2019, s’il en fait la demande.

Toutefois, si vous souhaitez que votre identité demeure confidentielle, vous pourrez l’indiquer aux autorités concernées. Vous pourrez le faire par téléphone, à partir du mois de juin 2018. Une ligne téléphonique sera mise en place à cet effet. Si vous aviez déjà demandé que votre identité demeure confidentielle, vous n’aurez pas à le demander de nouveau.

L’information concernant l’identité de votre enfant biologique demeurera toutefois confidentielle. Vous ne pourrez donc pas obtenir de renseignements à ce sujet.

Personnes adoptées à l'étranger ou parents biologiques d'un enfant adopté à l'étranger

Les personnes adoptées à l’étranger ou les parents biologiques d’un enfant adopté à l’étranger doivent s’adresser au Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale Ce lien ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre..

Pour en savoir plus

Pour plus d’information sur la recherche d’antécédents sociobiologiques, d’un parent biologique ou d’un enfant biologique adopté, communiquez avec le CISSS ou le CIUSSS offrant des services de protection et de réadaptation pour les jeunes en difficulté d’adaptation de votre région.

Dernière mise à jour : 24 juillet 2017, 11:34

Avis

Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Saines habitudes de vie Saines habitudes de vie Rendez-vous santé Québec