Family medicine group (FMG), U-FMG and super clinic

Family medicine group

A family medicine group (FMG) is a group of family doctors who work closely with other health professionals. This approach makes it easier for clients to access health and social services.

In an FMG, each doctor takes care of his/her own patients who are registered with him/her, but all the doctors who are members of the same FMG can access all the medical records for the FMG. This means that if someone comes in for a consultation and does not have an appointment with their own doctor, they can be seen by another doctor. They can also see a nurse, a social worker or another health professional in the FMG for various follow-ups if necessary.

This group-based approach:

  • ensures better follow-up and case management for patients;
  • improves quality of care;
  • improves access to primary care.

University family medicine group

A university family medicine group (U-FMG) is an FMG where family medicine residents, students and interns in various disciplines can receive training and be supervised. The teaching provided at U-FMGs is recognized by universities. U-FMGs offer the same services to the public as FMGs.

Super clinic

A super clinic is an FMG that provides increased access to a broader range of primary care services for semi-urgent and simple urgent needs.

Super clinics offer the same services as an FMG but must also:

  • provide consultations to patients who do not have a family doctor or who are registered with another FMG;
  • be open 7 days a week, 12 hours a day, with some exceptions;
  • offer all patients the possibility of making an appointment for the next day up until 3 hours before the super clinic’s closing time if all the available consultation slots for that day are booked.

In addition, super clinics are places where public specimen collection and imaging services are available on site or nearby. It is also easier to access specialized services in super clinics.

The services available in super clinics mean that clients who have a non-priority condition do not have to go to the emergency room in a hospital centre and face long wait times. They provide quick access to services for primary care needs.

To register with a doctor who is a member of an FMG

You can register with a doctor who is a member of an FMG if the doctor is taking on new patients. To find out more, consult the page Registering with a family doctor.

Authorize access to and transmission of your personal information

When you register with a doctor who is a member of an FMG, he/she will ask you for authorization to share your personal information if necessary. If you agree, the doctor will ask you to sign an authorization form.

This authorization means that the people you consult in the health and social services network can share information about you with each other. These may include your doctor, his/her colleagues in the FMG and any other health professionals you consult.

This will make it easier for your doctor to access your health information. He/she can, for example, be informed about the care and treatment you have received and your medical test results. This information will help your doctor to:

  • make a diagnosis and meet your needs;
  • coordinate all the services and treatments that you need for your condition;
  • provide follow-up for your condition.

To consult a health and social services professional in primary care

To make an appointment

You can call your FMG to make an appointment with your family doctor. Depending on your health and your needs, you can also make an appointment with another health and social services professional, for example a nurse or social worker.

Schedule a same-day or next-day consultation

If you need to see a doctor quickly, you can schedule a same-day or next-day consultation at a resource near you. Some FMGs offer this possibility. Super clinics are also specifically designed to meet this need. To find out more or to find one of these resources, consult the page Finding a Resource Offering Medical Consultation On The Same or Next Day.

You can contact Info-Santé 811 at any time if you have any questions or concerns about your health.

Vulnerable client groups

Some vulnerable client groups may access services outside their FMG’s opening hours. This service is offered to:

  • older adults with a significant loss of autonomy;
  • people who have a chronic disease that is associated with limitations.

If you belong to one of these client groups, you might be able to access this type of service if your doctor thinks it is necessary for your health. If so, your doctor will ask you for authorization to forward your name and health information to the Info-Santé 811 service. You will then be able to contact Info-Santé 811 to obtain personalized assistance as needed. You can also be referred to an available doctor if necessary.

Was this page helpful?


  

Last update: March 15, 2018 2:42 PM

Notice

Avant de consommer, informez-vous. C'est important. Anxiety disorders are real. So are the solutions. Québec Health Booklet Schedule an Appointment Online with a Family Doctor

Groupe de médecine de famille (GMF), GMF-U et super-clinique

Groupe de médecine de famille

Un groupe de médecine de famille (GMF) est un regroupement de médecins de famille qui travaillent en étroite collaboration avec d'autres professionnels de la santé. Cette organisation du travail permet à la clientèle d’avoir plus facilement accès à des soins de santé et de services sociaux.

Chaque médecin s'occupe de ses propres patients, qui sont inscrits auprès de lui, mais tous les médecins membres du GMF ont accès à l’ensemble des dossiers médicaux. Ainsi, une personne qui se présente pour une consultation peut être vue par un autre médecin que le sien. Au besoin, elle peut aussi rencontrer une infirmière, un travailleur social ou un autre professionnel de la santé du GMF pour différents suivis.

Ce travail en groupe permet :

  • d'assurer un meilleur suivi de l'état de santé et du dossier médical des patients;
  • d'améliorer la qualité des soins;
  • d’améliorer l’accès aux soins de première ligne.

Groupe de médecine de famille universitaire

Un groupe de médecine de famille universitaire (GMF-U) est un GMF qui se distingue par sa reconnaissance universitaire en matière d'enseignement. Les GMF-U offrent les mêmes services à la population que les GMF. 

Super-clinique

Une super-clinique est un GMF avec une offre de service de première ligne accrue pour les besoins semi-urgents et les besoins urgents simples.

En plus des services offerts dans les GMF, les super-cliniques doivent :

  • offrir des consultations aux patients n’ayant pas de médecin de famille ou étant inscrits dans un autre GMF;
  • être ouvertes 7 jours sur 7 et 12 heures par jour, sauf exception;
  • donner la possibilité pour tout patient de prendre un rendez-vous pour le lendemain dès 3 h avant la fermeture de la super-clinique dans le cas où toutes les plages de consultation affichées pour la journée sont comblées.

Les super-cliniques sont également des lieux où les services de prélèvements publics et les services d’imagerie sont disponibles sur place. De plus, l’accès aux services spécialisés y est  facilité.

Les services disponibles dans les super-cliniques permettent aux usagers qui ont une condition non prioritaire d’éviter de se présenter à l’urgence d’un centre hospitalier et d’y subir une attente prolongée. Il s’agit de services accessibles rapidement pour les besoins de première ligne.

Pour vous inscrire auprès d'un médecin membre d'un GMF

Vous pouvez vous inscrire auprès d'un médecin membre d'un GMF si ce médecin accepte de nouveaux patients. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page Inscription auprès d’un médecin de famille.

Autoriser l’accès à vos renseignements personnels et leur transmission

Lorsque vous vous inscrivez auprès d’un médecin membre d’un GMF, vous pouvez aussi autoriser que vos renseignements personnels puissent être communiqués si nécessaire. Cette autorisation concerne la transmission de vos renseignements personnels entre votre médecin, ses collègues du GMF et les autres professionnels de la santé que vous consultez dans le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux.

Votre autorisation permettra à votre médecin d’être plus facilement informé des soins et des traitements que vous avez reçus et des résultats de vos examens médicaux. Ces renseignements aideront votre médecin :

  • à établir un diagnostic et à répondre à vos besoins;
  • à coordonner l'ensemble des services et des traitements que votre condition nécessite;
  • à assurer le suivi de votre état de santé.

Lorsque vous vous inscrivez auprès d’un médecin d’un GMF, celui-ci vous fait signer un formulaire où vous donnez cette autorisation.

Pour consulter un professionnel de la santé et des services sociaux en première ligne

Avec un rendez-vous

Vous pouvez appeler à votre GMF afin de prendre un rendez-vous avec votre médecin de famille. Selon votre condition et votre besoin, vous pouvez également prendre rendez-vous auprès d’un autre professionnel de la santé et des services sociaux, par exemple une infirmière ou  un travailleur social. 

Obtenir une consultation médicale le jour même ou le lendemain

Si vous avez besoin de consulter un médecin rapidement, vous pouvez obtenir une consultation médicale le jour même ou le lendemain dans une ressource près de chez vous. Certains GMF offrent cette possibilité, et les super-cliniques sont spécifiquement conçues pour répondre à ce besoin. Pour en savoir plus ou pour trouver une de ces ressources, consultez la page Trouver une ressource qui offre de la consultation médicale le jour même ou le lendemain.

En tout temps, vous pouvez contacter Info-Santé 811 si vous avez des questions ou des inquiétudes sur votre état de santé.

Clientèles vulnérables

Certaines clientèles vulnérables, comme les personnes âgées dont la perte d'autonomie est importante et les malades chroniques, peuvent avoir accès à des services médicaux en-dehors des heures d'ouverture de leur GMF.

Si vous faites partie de ces clientèles, il se peut que votre médecin juge que votre état nécessite ce type de service. Il vous demandera alors l’autorisation de transmettre votre nom et l'information concernant votre état de santé au service Info-Santé 811. Ainsi, au besoin, vous pourrez contacter Info-Santé 811 pour obtenir de l'aide personnalisée. Si cela est nécessaire, vous serez dirigé vers un médecin disponible.

Dernière mise à jour : 16 mai 2017, 11:37

Rendez-vous santé Québec Inscription auprès d'un médecin de famille Une simple piqûre peut nuire à votre santé! Vaccination Vaccination